top of page
Search

Reflection Post for Asher Gannon

By: Jacob Martinez


Everyone’s backpack is different and the types of items that they own can describe who they are. I met Asher Gannon a year ago when one of my friends in my fraternity introduced me to her at their house. For the past year, I have learned so much about Gannon but never knew what kind of items she would carry in her backpack. With this assignment, I thought that she would be a great person to cover because Gannon has one of the best personalities a person can have. I also liked how she is in her last year here at WSU because I would think they would carry less items or even less meaningful items. When I reached out, I told her that I had a fun assignment that would let other people know about what a Senior carries with them while going to classes. We then found a day where after classes she came to my Fraternity Chapter house and showed me what she had in her backpack.

The first item I wanted to cover is her Starbucks waterbottle. She told me that she bought this waterbottle back home, and thought that it was pretty and that it reminded her of Euphoria, a show which she loves. The next item she explained to me is her Apple watch. Gannon explained to me that this was an important item because not only does it keep tract of her workouts, but it also allows her to easily get reminders about upcoming assignments and calendar for work. Asher’s next item are her three polaroid photos of her niece’s and cousin. She keeps these photographs in her backpack because it motivates her to do better as she is a role model for her younger family members.The next item on the list is her Apple Airpods, and this item is important as she loves to listen to music when she is at the Gym or even walking to class. Asher explained to me that the items in the front pocket of her backpack is her cosmetics. She holds her chapstick and perfume in her front pocket because these are necessary everyday items for beauty. Other items she keeps in her front backpack pocket are her jewelry and accessories. She holds these in her backpack as she loves fashion and likes to have jewelry whenever she is taking pictures, and posting them on her Instagram. Along with that, Asher also holds her sunglasses in her backpack for when she drives to school and for style.

However, the most important item that she explained to me was her disposable camera. This is important to her because no matter where she goes, she always has this item on her as it helps keep memories. Relating to mobile technology today, Gannon has an Instagram account for all of the disposable pictures she takes on the camera. She uses this platform as a way to hold memories and share with all of her friends the great memories she has made so far. The next item on the list is her redbull. Asher loves to have red bulls when she knows its going to be a long and busy day with work or school. Gannon then pulled out a poetry book from her backpack that she likes to read when she is stressed. Poetry helps Asher when she is going through a tough time and she told me that reading helps expand her mind. Another important item that she pulls out is her Apple IPhone. She explained to me that she does not know what she would do if her phone was lost or even broke. She relies on her phone as it helps keep her organized and allows her to keep in touch with some of her closest friends. The final item we discussed was her crystals that she holds onto every minute of her life. These crystals have three different meanings, one being self love, the other being a calming stone, and the last being a confidence stone. She believes in crystals as they provide positive energy and ensure happiness.

Overall I learned that Asher has a ton of meaningful items in her backpack and I now understand why she carries the items with her everyday. Along with that, when I think about these items and relate them back to mobile media, they all have a connection as most of the items she uses is to either support her posts on social media, create content, help increase her confidence when posting pictures online, or even to boost serotonin when she feels down.







6 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page