top of page
Search

Mobility and memories

Sinai Hernandez recalls fond memories and shares her tips for preparedness

Sinai Hernandez

Choosing a mix of both daily items and objects of sentimental value, Sinai Hernandez shares what she thinks defines her mobility. As showcased in the image, Hernandez's daily life consists of staying prepared for anything that may happen. Things that she keeps on her regularly include self defense weapons as well as snacks, vaseline and her water bottle.

Sinai's most essential items.

When asked what items are most essential for her daily life, Hernandez said that she values taking care of herself and considers vaseline and water to be her most crucial resources. “I always keep my credit card, keys, my cougar card and mask,” Hernandez added. “You can’t be an RA without a mask in the building.”


Because she spends so much of her time around campus and getting to know her residents, Hernandez values preparedness and tries her best to be a resource for those around her. She added that she aims to be approachable. “I’m the type of person that if you need a [phone] charger or anything I just pull it out of my bag” she said.


In terms of mobility, Hernandez again emphasized her need for preparedness. She keeps cash in case of emergencies and has an emergency pack with sanitizer, toiletries and a mini first aid kit that she carries almost everywhere. When asked about her readiness and organization she said “it’s easier to keep things on hand if you have a pouch or something to carry them in.”


Utilities such as school supplies have never mattered much in appearance to Hernandez. She said that growing up, it was difficult for her family to buy lots of high quality or brand name products so they stuck with generic items. “I guess I’m more of a minimalist in that sense,” Hernandez said. “I mostly express myself through my clothing and for other things it’s more, whatever gets the job done.”


Reflecting on the sentimental items she holds dear to her heart, Hernandez said that she often collects certain objects as reminders of happy memories. A rock for example, which she found with her younger brother as part of an excavation kit which she gifted to him.


Other trinkets she considers special include a figurine of a character from the Marvel film Black Widow gifted to her by her father. She said it’s a special token of her bravery and strength and appreciates the gift because of how much she and her father love the franchise.


Additionally, Hernandez shared a cat figurine that she picked up while out thrifting, in hopes to paint it black symbolizing her kitten Bagheera, and her passport which she keeps on hand because she likes traveling—a hobby she has missed fulfilling since the start of the pandemic.


Although she doesn’t care to travel often with sentimental items, Hernandez said she values them more than her necessities. “You can buy more chapstick, you can buy more water bottles,” She said. “But I think if my house was burning down the first things I would grab are [my cat], the letter my partner gave to me on valentines day, family photos [...]” she added that it’s difficult to have memories like those saved elsewhere.


Ultimately, when considering mobility and her daily activities, Hernandez said she prioritizes what’s most important to her by thinking about an item’s practicality. When she’s on campus, she values ease of access and ability to navigate with a light load. “I don’t like carrying a bag full of weight,” she said.


When speaking with Hernandez about what she regards as mobility and the importance of preparedness and organization, it struck me that as young adults, we tend to value ease of access. While reflecting on these ideals, I began to develop my app idea which I hope will fuse the concepts of self-care and ease of access, making it easier for young people to prioritize their health and establish routines that they can carry with them into their lives beyond graduation as they attempt to adjust to “adult life” and a larger load of responsibilities.








7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page