top of page
Search

Elders and Technology

By: Leilani Bruce


This week I read the article “How elders evaluate apps: A contribution to the study of smartphones and to use the analysis of the usefulness and accessibility of ICTS for older adults.” by Joan Francesc Fondevilla Gascon. This article talks about how elders interact and react with different technological improvements. They mention the difficulty some elders have in adapting to different technology and how it affects their lives.

The article starts off by explaining how technology grew very quickly over the years, and some of the older generation couldn't quite keep up. In my view, I completely agree. I feel like technology grew rapidly and it was harder for the older generation to understand it all. I remember growing up, my generation was really the ones who were introduced and taught with new and improved technologies, so it was easier for us to catch on, and adapt to even newer improvements as time went on. I remember having to teach my grandma how to text and how to use Facebook because it was harder for her to catch on. I also remember the rest of my family was mad at me for teaching my grandma how to text because she would bother them everyday. As time went on, I do feel like my grandma caught on easier to new technology since she was already introduced and now, she has ease connecting with new apps such as Tik Tok and Snapchat.

I also think it was harder on the elder generation to adapt because they were forced into these new technologies, whereas our generation was taught. For example, the older generation was forced to learn new technologies for their job, or required online paperwork. I remember my grandma was mad because she used to do all her paperwork on paper, but had to learn how to turn everything online, and it was a huge strain on her because she had never had to do that before. With my generation, we just had to switch over, which was a problem for us at all.

While reading the article, it was apparent that the reason some elders have trouble connecting with new technology is the already existing low frame enabling them to absorb new knowledge. That being said, as we age, it is already difficult enough for us to remember, retain, and learn new material, so when you add technology that has never been seen before, it puts a strain on one's mind, especially elders.

Although technology is difficult for the older generation, there are apps and other advancements that cater towards the older community and make it easier for them to use technology. As of 2014, 96% of scenarios over the age of 67 own a mobile phone. This means that the elder community is more open to adaptation, or maybe they are forced to adapt?

Overall, technology can be confusing to adapt too, but it is necessary in today's society. Sometimes I run into certain technological advancements that I am confused about, but these advancements make it easier to maneuver around. I feel like as time goes on, everyone no matter their age will be able to easily adapt to new technology skills.



References:

https://www.noisolation.com/research/why-do-many-seniors-have-trouble-using-technology#:~:text=Seniors%20generally%20have%20a%20lesser,weekly%20basis%20or%20more%20frequent.&text=96%25%20of%20seniors%20over%20the,a%20smartphone%20(2014%20numbers).


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page